September 18, 2020

Venturini Motorsports Lebanon I-44 Speedway Pre-Race Fast Facts

Series: ARCA Menards Series

Track: Lebanon I-44 Speedway

Date: 09/05/2020 

Race: Zinsser SmartCoat 200 

Duration: 200 laps / 75 miles

Segments: Segment one – at or near lap-75. Segment two – at or near lap-150. TV/Radio: 9:00PM EST MAVTV and TrackPass on NBC Gold 
FORMER WINNER: Come Saturday evening’s race, Michael Self will hold a slight advantage on the field. The ARCA Menards Series West visited I-44 Speedway in 2013, and that night’s victor was nonother than Self.·      DRIVER REPORT: This week’s VMS driver lineup:o   Drew Dollar – No. 15 Sunbelt Rentals Toyota Camryo   Chandler Smith – No. 20 JBL Toyota Camryo   Michael Self – No. 25 Sinclair Oil, Champion Power Equipment Toyota Camry·      

SIOUX CHIEF SHOWDOWN: Saturday evenings race marks the eighth race of the 2020 Sioux Chief Showdown, and marks the third time this season the showdown has raced at a new venue.  ·      

FATHER SON DUO: Marking the first AMS visit to the state of Missouri since 1994, when the Series visited Odessa’s I-70 Speedway, the visit also commemorates one of just five occasions in which father-son duo of Bill and Billy Venturini competed against each other in the same race. ·      

REPLACEMENT: Lebanon’s I-44 Speedway, while not originally on the 2020 schedule, has been relocated from its original location at Madison International Speedway. The track at 3/8-mile, will be the shortest track on the circuit, mimicking that of Elko Speedway. ·      

SCHEDULE: AMS officials will hold practice from 4-4:45PM followed by General Tire Pole Qualifying at 6PM CDT.·      

SOCIAL: Fans can interact with VMS and their drivers on social media utilizing the different outlets:o   

Facebook: VenturiniMotorsportso  

Twitter: @VenturiniMotoro   

Instagram: VenturiniMotorsportso   

Hashtags: #FlyTheV #TeamToyota #DINOracing #PoweringChampions 


Drew Dollar – No. 15 Sunbelt Rentals Toyota Camry “I don’t know anything about I-44 Speedway, but I’m excited to get there this weekend and check it out. ARCA has never run here, except for one West race in 2013, so that should make for an interesting show. Looks like the track should make for some good, tight racing and I’ll be trying my best to put our Sunbelt Rentals Camry out front at the end of the night.” 

Chandler Smith – No. 20 JBL Toyota Camry “I’m looking forward to going to I-44 Speedway this weekend, as it’s a new track to me and most everyone else. Reminds me a lot of Elko (Speedway) from the photos and size, so it should put on a good show and a solid chance of putting our JBL Toyota Camry up front.” 

Michael Self – No. 25 Sinclair Oil, Champion Power Equipment Toyota Camry“I’m fortunate to have experience and a win at I-44 Speedway, but 2013 was a long time ago. I really don’t remember the track all that well other than that it was a pretty typical short track in comparison with what we raced on quite a bit out West. I’m glad we get a few laps of practice this week. Hopefully the track will come back to me quick and we can actually make some changes and continue to work on the balance of the car if needed.” 

With over 65 victories, the 2019 ARCA Menards Series champions, Venturini Motorsports, are an official Toyota Racing Development team, and have been a permanent fixture in the ARCA Menards Series since 1983 and are considered one of the early pioneers in NASCAR driver development programs. 

Since Joey Logano, the 2018 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup champion, raced for the team in 2007, VMS has gone onto assist many of the sports’ top driver prospects in pursuit of making it to the highest levels of stock car racing. 

The growing list of drivers racing today in one of NASCAR’s top-three touring series include current Toyota drivers Erik Jones, Christopher Bell, Harrison Burton, Christian Eckes, Chandler Smith, Brandon Jones, Todd Gilliland, Brennan Poole, Ryan Reed and Natalie Decker. VMS Alumni also include Joey Logano, William Byron, Ryan Blaney, Alex Bowman, Daniel Suarez, Bubba Wallace, Matt Tifft, Noah Gragson, Justin Allgaier and Justin Haley. 

Credit: Venturini Motorsports